A great opening night for the festival weekend saw Liverpool legends The Icicle Works perform

“We’ll be as we are when all the fools who doubt us fade away.” The Icicle Works ‘Hollow Horse’ 1984.

“The Icicle Works formed in 1981 featuring Chris Sharrock (drums), Chris Layhe (bass and backing vocals) and Ian McNabb (vocals, guitar, keyboards). They quickly became part of the Liverpool post punk/new wave renaissance that included Echo And The Bunnymen, The Teardrop Explodes, Wah! Heat and OMD, scoring hit albums and singles all over the world almost immediately. After four albums they disbanded in 1988. They remerged with a new line up, still with songwriter, singer and guitarist Ian McNabb as bandleader in 1990 for one last album and tour. Ian McNabb went on to pursue a solo career which immediately yielded two top forty albums, a top forty single and a Mercury prize nomination.

    In 2006 The Icicle Works reformed with a new lineup – Roy Corkill (bass and backing vocals), Mathew Priest (drums and backing vocals), Richard Naiff (keyboards) and McNabb at the helm. 2016 is the tenth year this line up of the band have been performing to excited crowds up and down the country. Ian McNabb believes this line up of the band to be the strongest yet and looks forward to performing as the Icicle Works as well as under his own name for as long as people wish to enjoy this music, which would appear to be ageing like a fine Pinot.”